Meri Adhoori Kahani – An Alternative Ending

An Alternative Ending

 

For all those who cried reading Maan’s heart wrenching ordeal including myself and who simply hate sad endings. I am writing this continuation from where I actually ended this OS to provide solace to ourselves as well as to his tormented soul…

 

Here Maan was about to almost breathe his last but how was his Babaji to see him suffer more by letting him die a culprit in the eyes of his beloved Rano Maa and Geet.

 

On the other hand a highly inconsolable Rano Maa followed by a weeping Geet went into Maan’s room…

 

Rano (her tortured soul as if questioning Maan’s essence there): Meri mamta mei aisi kaun si kami rah gayi thi Maan ki tumne humare saath aisa kiya…. Hume itna bara dhoka diya… ki tumne mera sab kuch mujh se cheen liye aur Geet se uske pita ka hath uske sir se hata diya… kya humare pyaar ke koi mayane nahi thi tumhari nazaro mei…

(What was the mistake in my motherhood that you did this with us… that you stabbed us in our backs… that you snatched my everything from me and removed a father’s hand from Geet’s head… did our love mean nothing to you…)

 

Lightening thundered in the skies as if not able to see a mother blame her true child (yes he wasn’t her own but she truly loved him like hers) and suddenly a book fell from the rack as if even God wanted them to know about his innocence and his infinite sufferings.

 

Geet (picked up the book which had “Dear Diary” written on it): Maa…

 

Rano went to her and was stunned to see Maan’s diary in Geet’s hands, she almost snatched it from her hands… yes… maybe it contained the answers of her unanswered questions. She flipped across the pages which captured Maan’s initial happy child hood then his trauma after the tragedy of his parent’s loss and then suddenly she came across a page which reflected of the untold trauma which was always evident in Maan’s eyes… Somehow the very appearance of that diary page sent jitters deep within her heart and she literally trembles as she read on…

 

Maan’s diary: All said that I was very lucky that despite being an orphan the great land lord had decided to adopt me and was so kind enough to take me to his home. Though I was very scared but somewhere I was relieved that at least I won’t be alone anymore but how was I to know that he was the devil himself and just wanted to use and abuse me for his own disgusting pleasures… (Rano Maa was stunned “the devil” and she read on…) He took me along with him in his car, the ride seemed peaceful but then he stopped suddenly and as if the entire hell let loose… he came to the back seat where I was sitting… he had that devilish look in his eyes which freaked the living daylights out of me and I moved back and more back till my back banged the door… I hugged my knees close to my chest as he so creepily crept towards me with that evil smile spread across his face… it was as if the devil totally possessed him and he pulled me beneath him. I shrieked in terror but he gagged my mouth with his big filthy hand while the other roamed all over me… I felt so cheap, so small, so disgusted, so humiliated as he stripped me of my everything including my self-respect. I tried to protest, to save my honor by hitting him with my small hands and legs but he slapped me right across my face and crushed me completely underneath him, destroying all my futile efforts to somehow free myself. My soul screamed and howled… but he was nowhere to stop… he violated me again and again… till every inch of my body cried in pain, shame and disgust…

 

Tears rolled down Rano Maa’s as she almost witness what the young kid had undergone via his almost live portrayal of his ordeal, what all misery he had faced at the hands of her monstrous husband… her tears dropped on the diary page where already the pen ink had smudged owing to Maan’s tears that night when he poured his heart wrenching agony to his diary. With a trembling hand and a very heavy heart Rano Maa flipped a few pages.

 

Maan’s diary: The love of Rano Maa and Geet are the only reason why I still want to live otherwise this blood sucking monster has destroyed, ruined and scared not only my body but my soul as well.

.

.

.

.

.

Today he once again robbed me of my very existence… why God why… what have I done to be tortured and abused so mercilessly by this monster…please God… please save me for I can bear it no more… It is only the love of Rano Maa and Geet that has still held my lifeless soul together otherwise that devil has left no stone unturned to ruin me completely… but I wonder for how long…

 

Rano Maa desperately flipped ahead and she reached an entry which had today’s date on it.

 

Maan’s diary: Bas ab bahut ho gaya… jab bhi us raksha ka maan karta hai woh aata hai aur apne neech irado ke liye mera istema karta hai… par bas ab aur nahi… I can’t tolerate it anymore… I won’t tolerate it anymore. He has used, abused, tortured, tormented, violated and ruined me enough but not anymore… Aaj faisala ho jayega… ya toh woh apne gande, gatiya, gire hua aur ghinone iraded tyag dega… nahi toh mei usse zinda nahi choroonga…

(Enough, it is enough now… whenever that monster wants he comes and uses me for this disgusting pleasures… but not anymore… I can’t tolerate it anymore… I won’t tolerate it anymore. He has used, abused, tortured, tormented, violated and ruined me enough but not anymore… Today it will be decided… either he will give up his horrible, disgusting, revolting and sick deeds… otherwise I will not leave him alive…)

 

Tears escaped Rano Maan’s eyes as she slowly closed his diary which was the mirror of his heart wrenching agony… she sobbed how could a mother be so oblivious of the pain which her Maan was undergoing and that too for so long…

 

She got up just not able to absorb his trauma and rushed out when Geet spoke.

 

Geet (tears rolled down her eyes to see her mother cry): Kya hua Maa… kya likha hai diary mei… (What happened Maa… what is written in the diary…)

 

Rano (gently caressing her hair and face): Beta… humara Maan begunah hai… come we have to save his soul… (Beta… our  Maan is innocent… come we have to save his soul…)

 

And they both rushed out to where Maan was breathing his last yet somehow alive, unconscious yet living… uski rooh toh jaise is duniya se ruksad bhi nahi ho pa rahi thi jaise ki woh yaha is duniya mei apni begunahi bayan karne ke liye ruki hui thi.

(It seems as if his soul was not even able to leave this world, like it was still waiting in this world to speak about his innocence)

 

They rushed to his dying self, his soul as if felt their presence and he slowly blinked his eyes.

 

Maan: Maa… please mujhe maaf kar dijiye mei majboor tha (his guilty yet innocent heart pleaded his mother but how was his mother to blame him for a crime he was forced to commit in self defense and she immediately covered his mouth via her hand.)

(Maa… please forgive me, I didn’t have any choice)

 

Rano (shaking her head as tears of his agony rolled down her eyes): Nahi mere bache… mujhe sab pata chal gaya hai… galti toh meri hai… mei toh teri woh badnaseeb Maa hoon jo apne bache ka dukh, uski aatma ki takleef bhi na samaj payi (she sobbed uncontrollably) how could I not feel you heart wrenching pain, how could I be so oblivious to your tantalizing sufferings… how could I… (but how was he to let his beloved mother feel guilty for that monster’s doings and he somehow raised his bleeding and torn hand to wipe her tears.)

(No my child… I know everything now… it is my fault… I am that unfortunate mother who couldn’t even feel his sorrow, his pain, his suffering…)

 

Maan: Nahi Maa isme aapki hoi galti nahi hai (but how was she to forgive herself… while the little innocent Geet was yet to understand what all was transpiring between them but then how could they both tell her what a monster of a father she had, she was way too small and naive for them to ruin her by telling her his sins and they just kept escaping her innocent questions)

(No Maa it is not your fault)

 

Rano realized that Maan was literally breathing his last and she gestured him to stop talking and with great difficulty she and Geet helped their brutally beaten, profusely bleeding and completely drenched Maan inside their home and settled him near the burning fire. Geet rushed to get him a pair of dry clothes and towels while Rano Maa rushed to get all sorts of medicines as she knew his condition was deteriorating fast and that night was really crucial for him to somehow pass otherwise she would lose her son forever…

 

By the time Geet and Rano rushed back Maan was already jolting in and out of consciousness…

 

Rano (touching his forehead): Geet beta jaldi se patti aur pani la… he is burning with fever…

(Geet beta get cold water strips fast… he is burning with fever…)

 

Geet rushed to get the water while Rano helped Maan change his wet clothes as well as very pain stakingly applied the turmeric paste to his in-numerous wounds. Geet rushed back with the water and Rano took it from her as she gently laid Maan’s head in her lap and started placing cold water strips on his head and hands while Geet resumed putting the turmeric paste on his brutal injuries when Maan spoke…

 

Maan: Maa… aapne mujhe maaf kar diya na… ab meri aatma shanti se ruksad ho sakti hai (Rano Maa and Geet were shocked to say the least)

(According to Arpi this is the ideal end of this story when both Rano Maa and Geet know about his innocence and when his mother truly understands his suffering, then they both have healed his tormented, abused and bruised heart and his soul has finally found the solace it was so desperately seeking that he can finally leave this brutal world in peace… that he indeed leaves for his Heavenly abode.

But then it would be unjust with Geet and especially Rano Maa and also against my commitment to you guys, hence Arpi continues… Bhai after all ek bar commitment kar di toh hum humari bhi nahi sunte Wink)

 

Rano (as tears of remorse poured from her eyes): Nahi mere bache… tu hume cho kar aise nahi ja sakta… Tumhari Maa… Tumhari Geet hum dono ka kya hoga… beta mei janti hoon that I failed as a mother to protect you, to save you, how could I be so blind to your pain… how could I never realize the trauma you were undergoing… how could I not realize that monster so brutally stamping over your heart and soul… destroying your self-esteem… how could I not… (she sobbed and sobbed more as her soul bleed to have not been there for Maan when he needed him the most… how could she never feel his pain… how could she never see that his smile never reached his eyes… that he was only faking his happiness… how could she not and she cried more and more as her heart was simply not able to fathom what all had transpired right under her nose yet she had been so oblivious to it all)

(No my child… you can’t leave us like this and leave… your Maa… your Geet what will happen to us… beta I know that I failed as a mother to protect you, to save you, how could I be so blind to your pain… how could I never realize the trauma you were undergoing… how could I not realize that monster so brutally stamping over your heart and soul… destroying your self-esteem… how could I not…)

 

Maan (his heart bled to see his Maa guilty): Please Maa don’t make me more guilty by blaming yourself… please Maa.

 

Rano: Then promise me you will never ever talk about dying or even  leaving me and Geet alone (and Maan blinked his eyes… how could he when he loved them both more than even his life)


Rano Maa and Geet somehow managed to hide Maan from the eyes of the villagers as Rano knew they would never believe him, for them the landlord was perfect. And once Maan was completely healed with the unrelenting efforts of Rano and Geet they sold off their house and pastures and moved to a new place to restart their lives without the shadows of that monster’s sins.

And so his trauma came to an end… he was able to stop his tormentor and by the grace of God his Rano Maa and Geet came to know about his innocence and Finally God granted that troubled soul solace and those three loving souls lived happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

